Categories Of RC Helicopters
Home >> Hobbies >> Collecting >> Categories Of RC Helicopters

Categories Of RC Helicopters

Published by: Brian Chung (201)
Word Count: 514 | Comments: 0 | Article Views: 124 | Share this article on

The RC helicopter features a flight stabilizing systems, high weight air frames, proportional controls, altitude and rotor speed controls. It comes with a remote control hence the name. It is usually assemble and that means it is ready to take the first flight right from the box! The copters can be classified into two broad categories: the mini type and the advanced type. This classification is based on the number of channels and the experience that the user ought to have. The mini types are suitable for kids and beginners while the advanced ones will need the person to have a little bit of experience in fly them. Choose the one that meets your need.

The mini type category include:  the 2 channel RC Helicopters. They are called the 2 channel because they have two functional radio channels. This is a good type fro kids and starts. They are designed to fly around the house or indoors. A simple push of the throttle control and the device is up in the air. This category offers great entertainment for all ages, kids and adults alike. If you are buying a copter for your little one, this would be a good category to choose from. An example of a 2channel model is the SYMA-2 Channel Dragon Fly.

The advanced category includes the 3channel and the 4 channel RC Helicopters. They are referred to as advanced because they require a little bit of experience to fly them. It doesn’t mean that they are difficult to fly though. They may be a bit larger and more stable though compare to the 2 channel type. The distinction in this case is still the number of channels that the model have in that one has 3 functional radio channels and the other one has 4 functional radio channels.

 The 3 channel RC Helicopter offers a great starting point for the advanced category.  These copters have three functional radio channels. Most of the 3 channel copters would be suitable fro indoor flying. The flight time will vary depending on the model. Copters in this category are suitable fro persons above the age of 14 years. An example of a 3channel model is the 3.5 channel Syma S108G, 3channel micro Chinook, the 3channel Hawspy LT-711 with Gyro and Spycam.

The 4 channel RC helicopter is larger and more advanced type. They have four functional radio channels. They are larger and more stable. Even though they are called advanced, beginners may not have much difficulty flying them. They are fully controllable in all directions. Either up, down, left, right, forward, backwards or even spin them. Just like the 2 and 3 channel models, they are suitable fro indoor use. However, they can be used outside when it is not windy. The single bladed models like the E-SKY Honeybee and the Walkera 4G1B are outdoor trainer models. Examples of the 4 channel category include; the Align T-Rex 100S Super Combo RTT, ESKY Belt –CP V2 , Avatar 2008 4channel e.t.c

Brian Chung - About the Author:

Hobby-eStore is the best place to purchase all of your RC needs. They have it all, from RC Trucks, Remote Control Helicopters, RC Cars, and RC Helicopters. Visit them at

* Required fields
Type the characters you see in the picture below.*